Sunday, May 1, 2016

News Bar

 SAARC Cultural Center will enhance South Asian cultural ties - President    |  State Minister Wijewardene graces school Investiture Ceremony  

Home News & Events MOD News

LTTE fire fleeing civilians ; 19 killed , Army rescue 1046 civilians  - Puthukkuduyiruppu

LTTE fire fleeing civilians ; 19 killed , Army rescue 1046 civilians  - Puthukkuduyiruppu [Updated]

The latest reports arriving from the Army Task Force 2 indicate that 19 civilians have been killed and 75 others wounded in the cowardly LTTE attack at the civilians seeking refuge with the soldiers in Udayarkattukualam this morning (Feb 10). Among the dead are 2 children , 5 women , and 12 males. Another 28 children , 30 women and 17 men have suffered injuries.

Sri Lanka Army Task Force 2 soldiers operating west of Puthukkuduyiruppu, in Mullaittivu district have rescued about 1046 Tamil civilians escaping the LTTE human shield in Wanni this morning (Feb 10). According to the defence sources, the civilians have arrived to the civilian rescue point in the North east of Udayarkattukulam area  between 6 AM and 7 AM amidst raging LTTE small arms fire.

Army has taken measures to airlift the critically wounded people to Anuruadhapura and Vavuniya hospitals while the others have been given first aid at field dressing station at the rescue point itself. Troops expects more civilians arrivals today, said the sources.

The attack at the civilians is the third in this month carried out by the LTTE terrorists to prevent civilians getting out of the human shield in Wanni. Yesterday (Feb 9) a brainwashed LTTE suicide bomber blew herself up, at a civilian rescue point killing 10 civilians and wounding over 40.


Related News:

LTTE continues targeting Tamil civilians: suicide bomb attack at IDP rescue centre - Kilinochchi

| |   PRINT

Reproduction of  news items are permitted when used without any alterations to contents and the source.

| About Us | Publications | News & Events | Resources | Useful Links | Services | Defence Units |

2009 Ministry of Defence  - Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor