Thursday, March 21, 2019

News Bar

  Ministry to hold religious programmes in view of 'Tripitakabhivandana' Week    |  SPECIAL ANNOUNCEMENT ;

Home News & Events MOD News

Air Force Combat Training School awarded President's Colour

Air Force Combat Training School awarded President's Colour

[April 02 2018]

The President and Commander in Chief of the Armed Forces Maithripala Sirisena was the chief guest at the Presidential Colours awarding ceremony of the Sri Lanka Air Force Combat Training School in Diyatalawa (SLAF CTS), today (02nd April, 2018).

The State minister of Defence Hon. Ruwan Wijewardene was also present at the occasion.

Arriving at the venue the President was received by the Commander of the Air Force Air Marshal Kapila Jayampathy. Subsequently the President awarded the President's Colour to the SLAF Combat Training School, Diyatalawa according to time held traditions. The President was also presented a Guard of Honour by the Air Force personnel during the ceremony.

The CTS in Diyatalawa is one of the oldest training schools of the Sri Lanka Air Force. The Presidential Colour is the highest honor a military establishment could receive. Presenting of Colours is the highest recognition that a leader of a country can award a battalion or a regiment in recognition of the great service rendered towards the country. It is considered a great honour and prestige to be awarded with Colours.

SLAF CTS Diyatalawa aptly known as the "Cradle of the Air Force" was established in 1952 as a Royal Ceylon Air Force Station. With Sri Lanka becoming a republic in 1972, it was renamed as the Sri Lanka Air Force Station Diyatalawa. This school conducts Basic Combat Training Courses and Advanced Courses for Air Force officers and other rank personnel.

The Air Force was first awarded with the President's Colour in 1976. On the occasion of SLAF Golden Jubilee, SLAF Base Katunayake and No 1 Flying Training Wing Anuradhapura were awarded with the President's Colour. In 2009, SLAF No 02 Transport Squadron, No 04 VIP Transport Helicopter Squadron, No 09 Fighter Helicopter Squadron, No 10 Fighter Jet Squadron and the Sri Lanka Air Force Regiment were also awarded the President's Colour.

The Chief of Defence Staff, Admiral Ravindra Wijegunaratne, Commander of the Sri Lanka Army, Lieutenant General Mahesh Senanayake, Commander of the Sri Lanka Navy, Vice Admiral Sirimevan Ranasinghe, senior Air Force officers and a large number of Air Force personnel were also present at the occasion.

| |   PRINT

<<< Useful Links >>>

Reproduction of  news items are permitted when used without any alterations to contents and the source.

| About Us | Publications | News & Events | Resources | Useful Links | Services | Defence Units |

2009 Ministry of Defence  - Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor