Saturday, April 30, 2016

News Bar

 SAARC Cultural Center will enhance South Asian cultural ties - President    |  State Minister Wijewardene graces school Investiture Ceremony  

Home News & Events MOD News

HE Presidents awards gallantry medals to War Heroes

HE President awards gallantry medals to War Heroes

His Excellency the President and Commander in Chief of the Armed Forces Mahinda Rajapaksa awarded the prestigious Gallantry Medals, Weera Wickrama Vibhushanaya (WWV) and Rana Wickrema Padakkama (RWP) to war heroes for their unwavering commitment, dedication, valour and sacrifice during the Humanitarian Operations in the North and East at a ceremonial function held at the Temple Trees on 15th July.

Out of the 19,158 security forces personnel eligible for the gallantry medals a total of 216 war heroes of the tri forces were presented with the medals at the symbolic investiture ceremony held yesterday. 147 Army 43 Navy and 26 Air Force officers and other ranks were honoured with Gallantry Medals at the ceremony. The remaining number of recipients will be awarded with the medals in regimental ceremonies later.

HE the President first pinned the medals on the service forces commanders. The gallantry medals include 156 Weera Wickrama Vibhushanaya (WWV) medals, 2232 Rana Wickrema Padakkama (RWP) medals and 16,770 Rana Sura Padakkama (RSP) medals.

Prime Minister Hon D. M Jayaratne, Secretary Defence and Urban Development Mr. Gotabaya Rajapaksa, officials of the Ministry of Defence, Chief of Defence Staff, Tri-services Commanders, Inspector General of the Police, Chiefs of Staff of the Army, Navy and Air Force, Chairperson of the Ranaviru Seva Authority Chairperson, state officials, tri-service senior officers, next of kin of fallen War Heroes and a large number of distinguish invitees were present at the occasion.


View More Photos >>

| |   PRINT

Reproduction of  news items are permitted when used without any alterations to contents and the source.

| About Us | Publications | News & Events | Resources | Useful Links | Services | Defence Units |

2009 Ministry of Defence  - Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor