National Defence Fund News
post img

Damro Company donates Rs. One million to National Defence Fund

Damro Company donated Rs. One million to the National Defence Fund at the Defence Ministry, today (30).

July 30, 2020

post img

'Sathviru Abhiman' felicitates War Heroes

President Maithripala Sirisena graced the 'Sathviru Abhiman' War Hero welfare programme at the Sugathadasa Indoor Stadium, this evening (22 July 2019).

July 22, 2019

post img

'Sathviru Abhiman' national ceremony under President's patronage

The nation owes its gratitude to the War Heroes who had sacrificed their lives and limbs to usher in an era of peace and unity in the country.

July 19, 2019

post img

President graces Sathviru Abiman War Heroes welfare programme

The "Sathviru Abiman" War Hero welfare programme of the  Ministry of Defence (MoD) was held at the Nelum Pokuna Theatre in Colombo under the patronage by HE the President Maithripala Sirisena on Thursday (18 October)

October 19, 2018

post img

President hands over 'Sathwiru Sanhinda' houses to War Heroes

President Maithripala Sirisena was the chief guest at the 'Sathwiru Sanhinda' house handing over ceremony held at the Ape Gama in Battaramulla today (10th Wednesday, May 2017).

May 10, 2017

National Defence Fund incorporated by the National Defence Fund Act No.09 of 1985 is governed by a board of Governors nominated as per amended Act No. 16 of 2018. This fund is utilized the amount owned to the fund subject to the provisions of the president in the manner and functions the Board of Governor intends that it is caused mostly to the advancement and ensurence of the national security. Further, welfare benefits to a member of the tri-forces or the police who sustained injures or devoted his life in the course of performing his duties or member of his family are also provided

Board of Governers

• Chairman -

Dr. P. B. Jayasundera (Secretary to the President)

• Member -

Major General (Rtd) GDHK Gunaratne WWV RWP RSP USP ndc psc MPhill (Secretary, Defence Ministry)

• Member -

Prof. Medagoda Abhayathissa Thero (Representative appointed by His Excellency the President)

National Security Fund Staff


Mr. W.A. Kulasooriya
(Additional Secretary - Administration)

Assistant Secretary
Mr. H.P.D. Hewage
(Assistant Director)

Mrs. T.C.P. Frenando

Subject Clerk I
Mrs. Y. Liyanagunawardhana

Subject Clerk II
Mr. N.K.A. Sampath

Accounting Clerk
Ms. Ishara Harshani Kumarasinghe

National Defence Fund,
Ministry of Defence,
No 15/5,
Baladaksha Mawatha,
Colombo 03.

(Ext. - 334/335)