Members of the National Force for the Protection of Rights of War Heroes and Athuraliye Rathana Thero meet Additional Secretary (Defence) of the Ministry of Defence

September 25, 2019

Representatives of the National Organization for the Protection of Rights of War Heroes, who are staging a protest apposite the Fort Railway Station in Colombo and Ven. Athuraliye Rathana Thero, met with Additional Secretary (Defence) of the Ministry of Defence Mr. Anuradha Wijekoon at the Ministry of Defense Auditorium, yesterday evening (24 September).

During the discussion Additional Secretary (Defence) Anuradha Wijekoon stated that, the disabled members of the Armed Forces Police and Special Task Force have been granted a pension equal to the last salary they received even after their retirement.

Accordingly, all disabled War Heroes will be paid the monthly salary including the basic salary and all allowances received at the time of retirement, in lieu of the pension and other allowances paid to the disabled War Heroes.

A copy of the letter of approval was also handed over to Ven. Athuraliye Rathana Thero by the Additional Secretary at the occasion.

Military Spokesman and Director of the MoD Media Center Major General Sumith Atapattu, Deputy Military Liaison Officer of MoD Brigadier Ajith Dissanayake, ASP (Colombo Central) Manoj Rathnayake, Senior military and police officers were also present at the occasion